Last weeks Football Officials Camp at the University of Nevada, Reno was outstanding. I learned more in three days than I have in the past five years. Several major personalities in Football Officiating were on staff as mentors and coaches. The staff-to-official ratio was 3:1. It was as close to one-on-one mentoring as you can get. And these guys were not just anybody. They were somebodies representing the NFL, Big-12, PAC-10, MWC, SEC, ACC, WAC, and a few other conferences. Some names you may recognize include; Jon Bible, Red Cashion, Jerry Markbreit, Carl Cheffers, Rogers Redding, Ken Rivera, Dan Romeo, Dave Warden, Doug Rhoads, Walt Anderson, Ron Capra, to name a few.
So, what happens at one of these camps besides meeting a bunch of great people, having a lot of fun, and enjoying four days of football away from your normal life? This alone is worth the cost, but what really happens at this camp is you work. A lot. From 6:30 AM to about 8:30 PM. Long ass days, but so much better than your day job. You get very tired, but its a 'good' tired.
The Officials Camp is concurrent with a player Football Camp. There must have been fifty High School Football teams playing scrimmages. So, when we took the field, there were two teams who wanted to pound on each other. These were full contact scrimmages.
The scrimmages took place on a dozen or so fields, so each day we rotated to a different set of fields.
The 'we' I refer to was my crew. Before you arrive at the camp you are assigned to a crew who you work with the entire week. My crew was pretty good and was made up of guys from California and Texas.
At each of the scrimmage stations we each has a position coach who took notes and critiqued us. I had one-on-one mentoring from Tony Michalek, Russ Pulley, Scott Novak, and Ruben Fowler. Not too bad.
After a scrimmage session we would head back to the meeting room for class room discussions. Some of these discussions reviewed the new rules for 2008, officiating philosophies, tons of film review. Then, back on the field.
On Wednesday, my crew was filmed. Part of the program is to be filmed working a live scrimmage and then having the film critiqued play by play. This is very educational. And very intimidating. But, if you want to move up the ladder, you better get used to it. This is deal.
My film review was, in my opinion, average. I did somethings correct, other areas I need to improve. I clearly need to move with 'purpose', and at times, I am not staying with my keys long enough. I know why I am doing this. It just turns out I was wrong.
I did get conflicting feedback from my position coaches. At first I expected to learn the 'right' way. Or at least learn how I was missing the mark. But, it turns out, there is more than one way to umpire. Technique is one thing, but presence is another. Presence is what I really need to work on. And since I am only 5'9'', I need a shit-load of presence to stand out. I did get a lot of mentoring on how to show presence and I am each to try this out on the field.
Overall, the comments were "good job, watch my weight, and you are where you belong at this point of your career." Well, that's what I expect to hear. 2008 will only be my 2nd year of NCAA ball.
There is so much more to report on the camp. I'll include this in the next few posts.
Friday I am working the High School All-Star game again. Let' see if this is as much of a joke as last year.
And then Saturday night I am working the MLFA (Minor League Football Alliance) West State Championship Game. This means it is the California State Championship. The winner of this game plays for the National Championship for Spring Teams, who then would play the winner of the Fall Teams for the overall MLFA World Alliance Bowl. Kinda cool. I'll let you know how this goes.
Sunday, June 22, 2008
Monday, June 9, 2008
College Football Begins Again
Today I leave for a week long 'camp' for Football Officials in Reno. At the camp I will be on a crew which will get filmed during full-contact scrimmage and then be evaluated by a mentor. I'll have much ore to say about this when I return. There will be over 50 Div I, NFL, Arena Football Officials on-site as mentors. I'm really looking forward to this.
Sunday, June 8, 2008
Minor League Football - Last Week
I was scheduled to work the Conference Championship game on Sat. but was too ill. I took myself off the game. The next round of playoff is next week. so maybe I'll get this game.
Monday, June 2, 2008
Revision to last post
A few readers have pointed out a mistake in my logic regarding the 4th down fumble situation. This is welcome feedback. I hate it when I get things wrong, but I rarely make the same mistake twice. If anyone is interested in becoming an official you need to brave enough to be wrong. Because you will be.
What everyone has pointed out is the an errant snap is a backward pass (i.e., not a fumble) and thus the 4th down fumble rule does not apply. Anyone may advance the ball. However, no one has explained why.
I agree with the response. They are true, albeit incomplete answers. Here is what I mean.
Rule 2-2-3-b says all players are eligible to advance a loose ball from a fumble or backwards pass...
It it more precise to say the muffed snap becomes a loose ball and thus the 4th down fumble rule does not apply. You need to know the loose ball came from a backwards pass, but saying it is a backwards pass is not the reason the 4th down rule does not apply. I can't find anything in the rule book saying a backwards pass can be advanced by any player.... only a loose ball from a backwards pass.
This may sounds like a nit-pick, but actually it is important.
For example, Rule 6-3-1-a say a blocked scrimmage kick behind the LOS is also eligible to be advanced by any player. This is because the ball has become a loose ball. The blocking of the scrimmage kick (as is the muffed snap) is the action which changed the status of the ball. The key is the status of the ball, not the action against the ball.
Officials have this little mind-game we play where on scrimmage kicks we tell ourselves during the loose ball (i.e. the time period after it is kicked and before the kick ends) "it's still a kick, it's still a kick". We do this because if the attempt to gain possession of the kick is muffed, only R may advance. K can recover, but not advance. This is an exception the loose ball rule.
This is my point. All loose balls (grounded for this discussion) may be advanced by any player unless there is an exception.
So, saying "A muffed snap is a backwards pass, so the 4th down rule does not apply" is an accurate description, and we all know what it meant by it, but it is not true. A muffed snap is a loose ball, so the 4th down fumble rule does not apply.
Re-read Rule 2-2-3-b and see if you agree.
What everyone has pointed out is the an errant snap is a backward pass (i.e., not a fumble) and thus the 4th down fumble rule does not apply. Anyone may advance the ball. However, no one has explained why.
I agree with the response. They are true, albeit incomplete answers. Here is what I mean.
Rule 2-2-3-b says all players are eligible to advance a loose ball from a fumble or backwards pass...
It it more precise to say the muffed snap becomes a loose ball and thus the 4th down fumble rule does not apply. You need to know the loose ball came from a backwards pass, but saying it is a backwards pass is not the reason the 4th down rule does not apply. I can't find anything in the rule book saying a backwards pass can be advanced by any player.... only a loose ball from a backwards pass.
This may sounds like a nit-pick, but actually it is important.
For example, Rule 6-3-1-a say a blocked scrimmage kick behind the LOS is also eligible to be advanced by any player. This is because the ball has become a loose ball. The blocking of the scrimmage kick (as is the muffed snap) is the action which changed the status of the ball. The key is the status of the ball, not the action against the ball.
Officials have this little mind-game we play where on scrimmage kicks we tell ourselves during the loose ball (i.e. the time period after it is kicked and before the kick ends) "it's still a kick, it's still a kick". We do this because if the attempt to gain possession of the kick is muffed, only R may advance. K can recover, but not advance. This is an exception the loose ball rule.
This is my point. All loose balls (grounded for this discussion) may be advanced by any player unless there is an exception.
So, saying "A muffed snap is a backwards pass, so the 4th down rule does not apply" is an accurate description, and we all know what it meant by it, but it is not true. A muffed snap is a loose ball, so the 4th down fumble rule does not apply.
Re-read Rule 2-2-3-b and see if you agree.
Sunday, June 1, 2008
Minor League Football - 1st Round Payoff Game
The final score of 73-13 fails to reflect the lack of competitive play during the contest. This game was over ten minutes into the first quarter and the victors could have easily scored 100 points. In fact, at one time during the game, the coach asked me what would happen on the score reached 100, because they planned on running the score up.
From an officiating point of view this was a boring game. There were a lot of interceptions with run backs for scores. The winning team never seemed to have the ball. They score 73 points and maybe ran 30 offensive plays plays the entire game.
I worked the sidelines again. Threw a few offsides, false starts, and illegal formation as usual. The only big penalty was a Defensive PI. Before the first quarter ended the score was already 35-0. Players behind were saying, "hey, that guy is offsides". I said, "ya, I know." Then their team makes a eight yard run and they say "I guess it didn't help them". I say, "you noticed" and they chuckle. I did too but not so they could see me.
We had two interesting plays. The first occurred when the losing team had 4th and short around mid-field. There was a bad snap and then the ubiquitous mass of humanity. If you are not familiar with college rules, there is an important exception on 4th down fumbles. Only the fumbler is allow to pick-up the ball and advance. If another teammate gains possession the play ends and the ball will be placed back at the spot of the fumble.
So, on this play the question is - who is the fumbler on a bad snap? The Snapper or the QB? Typically on these plays the QB picks-up the ball and advances. But I think this is wrong.
Here's my interpretation of this scenario from the 2007 rule book.
2-12-1... Handing the ball is transferring player possession from one teammate to another without throwing, fumbling or kicking
2-12-1-c... loss of player possession by unsuccessful execution of attempted handling is a fumble by the last player in possession.
2-19-2-d...the snap becomes a backward pass when the snapper releases the ball
2-23-1-c ... the screwed-up snap is a backwards pass
2-10-1... a fumble is ANY act other than passing, kicking, or successful handling that results in loss of player possession..
So, I conclude the Snapper was the last player in possession of the ball, and thus on 4th down, the only player who can advance the backwards pass.
Luckily, they didn't make the line to gain anyway, so it was a non-issue, but we did talk about it and I think the White Hat would have given them the first down had they made it.
The second odd play was on a high snap that went over the kickers head. The kicker chased the ball and then kicked it while it was on the ground. An illegal kick. I had to give the White Hat the proper signal. Which really didn't matter because the other team ran the ball back for a score.
This could be my last MLF game this season. The next round of playoffs is next week, but of course, I won't know if I have a game until Wednesday.
From an officiating point of view this was a boring game. There were a lot of interceptions with run backs for scores. The winning team never seemed to have the ball. They score 73 points and maybe ran 30 offensive plays plays the entire game.
I worked the sidelines again. Threw a few offsides, false starts, and illegal formation as usual. The only big penalty was a Defensive PI. Before the first quarter ended the score was already 35-0. Players behind were saying, "hey, that guy is offsides". I said, "ya, I know." Then their team makes a eight yard run and they say "I guess it didn't help them". I say, "you noticed" and they chuckle. I did too but not so they could see me.
We had two interesting plays. The first occurred when the losing team had 4th and short around mid-field. There was a bad snap and then the ubiquitous mass of humanity. If you are not familiar with college rules, there is an important exception on 4th down fumbles. Only the fumbler is allow to pick-up the ball and advance. If another teammate gains possession the play ends and the ball will be placed back at the spot of the fumble.
So, on this play the question is - who is the fumbler on a bad snap? The Snapper or the QB? Typically on these plays the QB picks-up the ball and advances. But I think this is wrong.
Here's my interpretation of this scenario from the 2007 rule book.
2-12-1... Handing the ball is transferring player possession from one teammate to another without throwing, fumbling or kicking
2-12-1-c... loss of player possession by unsuccessful execution of attempted handling is a fumble by the last player in possession.
2-19-2-d...the snap becomes a backward pass when the snapper releases the ball
2-23-1-c ... the screwed-up snap is a backwards pass
2-10-1... a fumble is ANY act other than passing, kicking, or successful handling that results in loss of player possession..
So, I conclude the Snapper was the last player in possession of the ball, and thus on 4th down, the only player who can advance the backwards pass.
Luckily, they didn't make the line to gain anyway, so it was a non-issue, but we did talk about it and I think the White Hat would have given them the first down had they made it.
The second odd play was on a high snap that went over the kickers head. The kicker chased the ball and then kicked it while it was on the ground. An illegal kick. I had to give the White Hat the proper signal. Which really didn't matter because the other team ran the ball back for a score.
This could be my last MLF game this season. The next round of playoffs is next week, but of course, I won't know if I have a game until Wednesday.
Monday, May 12, 2008
Minor League Football - Bizarre Game - Part 2
There was a second, more important down-by-contact play late in the second quarter. Two players leaped for a pass and made incidental contact in the air. The receiver touched and gained possession of the ball after the two separated and he completed the catch upon hitting the ground. Neither I nor the Field Judge blew our whistle. The player wisely gets off the ground and runs in for the score.
Of course my coach is coming out of his skin claiming down by contact. I said the receiver was never touch while he possessed a live ball (i.e., was not a ball carrier). How can you have down-by-contact on a non-call carrier?
Frankly, I don't know the rule. I looked in the NFL rule book and could not find an interpretation of this situation. It became an important play, because of what happens next.
So, the team attempts a two point conversion and fails. Recall last post I asked you to remember the score being 8-0. Now the score is 8-6. Remember this.
A series or two later, the Visitors (the team with six points) is at the 19 yard line on 4th and long. They decided to attempt a Field Goal. The kick is short and for some bizarre reason, the home team player catches the ball at the two. Yes, he can advance the ball, by why not just take a Touchback and get the ball at the twenty? Instead, this guy proceeds to run all over the friggin place and ends-up tackled in the end zone. Safety. Are you kidding me? Now the score is 8-9 and they have to kick the ball back to the Visitors.
So, go for three points, but get two, and get the ball back. Cool.
Then with about five minutes remaining in the 4th, the Side Judge comes running over to my side of the field, (during a play mind you) to confront my coach. What the hell? He yelling he has a right to defend himself, your players are threating me, I don't have to take this crap, etc. WHAT?
When you walk on to the field as an official you do have to put up with crap. Boat loads of it. But, there is a line players and coaches cannot cross and you better know how thick the line is. I usually draw the line when they start using second person pronouns. It becomes very clear, very fast when it turns into disrespect. When it turns into disrespect it becomes very simple. You toss a flag and take control. Simple. End of story. You don't make a scene in front of everyone, including the children of the players, and make a complete ass out of yourself. You make the entire crew and the association look terrible.
I told my coach I was embarrassed for the crew and that guy was way out of line and highly unprofessional.
After the game the Side Judge continued to justify his actions and claimed wasn't going to do this sport any more. Good.
Next week is the final regular season game, but I believe I have two games.
Of course my coach is coming out of his skin claiming down by contact. I said the receiver was never touch while he possessed a live ball (i.e., was not a ball carrier). How can you have down-by-contact on a non-call carrier?
Frankly, I don't know the rule. I looked in the NFL rule book and could not find an interpretation of this situation. It became an important play, because of what happens next.
So, the team attempts a two point conversion and fails. Recall last post I asked you to remember the score being 8-0. Now the score is 8-6. Remember this.
A series or two later, the Visitors (the team with six points) is at the 19 yard line on 4th and long. They decided to attempt a Field Goal. The kick is short and for some bizarre reason, the home team player catches the ball at the two. Yes, he can advance the ball, by why not just take a Touchback and get the ball at the twenty? Instead, this guy proceeds to run all over the friggin place and ends-up tackled in the end zone. Safety. Are you kidding me? Now the score is 8-9 and they have to kick the ball back to the Visitors.
So, go for three points, but get two, and get the ball back. Cool.
Then with about five minutes remaining in the 4th, the Side Judge comes running over to my side of the field, (during a play mind you) to confront my coach. What the hell? He yelling he has a right to defend himself, your players are threating me, I don't have to take this crap, etc. WHAT?
When you walk on to the field as an official you do have to put up with crap. Boat loads of it. But, there is a line players and coaches cannot cross and you better know how thick the line is. I usually draw the line when they start using second person pronouns. It becomes very clear, very fast when it turns into disrespect. When it turns into disrespect it becomes very simple. You toss a flag and take control. Simple. End of story. You don't make a scene in front of everyone, including the children of the players, and make a complete ass out of yourself. You make the entire crew and the association look terrible.
I told my coach I was embarrassed for the crew and that guy was way out of line and highly unprofessional.
After the game the Side Judge continued to justify his actions and claimed wasn't going to do this sport any more. Good.
Next week is the final regular season game, but I believe I have two games.
Sunday, May 11, 2008
Minor League Football - Week 9 - Bizarre Game - Part 1
This week's game was the most difficult to officiate this season. The game was very odd and many unusual plays occurred. The final score was 9-8.
One thing that made the game different was I worked Line Judge. The LJ is the wing official who is opposite the Chains. My responsibility is watching the line of scrimmage, watching the 'inside' receiver, and helping on passes. I have forward progress all the way to the two yard line. On an interception, I do something called 'fade mechanics' where I have to back peddle all the way back to the goalline.
What is really awkward, and quite different from High School, is the LJ holds the line until a pass is thrown. In High School, when you read pass, you break down field to help the Back Judge. It's almost unnatural just standing there.
A reoccurring theme in this league is no clock. Eventually, they got it working, but we started the game with no clock.
So, the opening kickoff is fumbled and the home team recovers. Two plays later they score and then complete a two point conversion. The score is 8-0. This is important to remember later in our story.
Then we have very high, short punt. Nothing good ever happens when these occur. And sure enough we have a receiver touching the ball and the kickers recovering. The kickers then proceed to advance the kick. Why the two deep officials or the Umpire did not blow the whistle is beyond me. So, the play goes on, the guy scores, my sideline gets all jubilant and then the Side Judge comes in and says the receiver was blocked into the ball. Well Mr Side Judge, if you saw that, why the hell didn't you blow your whistle when K picked-up the ball. My coach wants answers, its not his fault the stupid receiver was that close to the ball. Everything went downhill from here.
Then, late in the second, I see flags flying on the other side of the field. Eventually, there are five flags on the ground and 45 yards of penalties against the visitors. One player is ejected for fighting and a flag was thrown on a coach. We wasted ten minutes getting this all figured out. Adding insult to injury, the Umpire walked the wrong way, and had to remark the penalty.
What else? Oh, yea the first questionable down-by-contact. We had a play in the middle of the field where a ball carrier broke through the line and then fell down. I blew my whistle. But, shortly realized (and I still don't know if I was right) the contact that occurred before he fell down did not cause him to go down. I told the White Hat I had an inadvertent whistle. The offense took the result of the play, so no harm done. I've asked our assigner for clarification on this rule because I actually don't know what it is.
There's more bizarre stuff that occurred during this game. More tomorrow.
One thing that made the game different was I worked Line Judge. The LJ is the wing official who is opposite the Chains. My responsibility is watching the line of scrimmage, watching the 'inside' receiver, and helping on passes. I have forward progress all the way to the two yard line. On an interception, I do something called 'fade mechanics' where I have to back peddle all the way back to the goalline.
What is really awkward, and quite different from High School, is the LJ holds the line until a pass is thrown. In High School, when you read pass, you break down field to help the Back Judge. It's almost unnatural just standing there.
A reoccurring theme in this league is no clock. Eventually, they got it working, but we started the game with no clock.
So, the opening kickoff is fumbled and the home team recovers. Two plays later they score and then complete a two point conversion. The score is 8-0. This is important to remember later in our story.
Then we have very high, short punt. Nothing good ever happens when these occur. And sure enough we have a receiver touching the ball and the kickers recovering. The kickers then proceed to advance the kick. Why the two deep officials or the Umpire did not blow the whistle is beyond me. So, the play goes on, the guy scores, my sideline gets all jubilant and then the Side Judge comes in and says the receiver was blocked into the ball. Well Mr Side Judge, if you saw that, why the hell didn't you blow your whistle when K picked-up the ball. My coach wants answers, its not his fault the stupid receiver was that close to the ball. Everything went downhill from here.
Then, late in the second, I see flags flying on the other side of the field. Eventually, there are five flags on the ground and 45 yards of penalties against the visitors. One player is ejected for fighting and a flag was thrown on a coach. We wasted ten minutes getting this all figured out. Adding insult to injury, the Umpire walked the wrong way, and had to remark the penalty.
What else? Oh, yea the first questionable down-by-contact. We had a play in the middle of the field where a ball carrier broke through the line and then fell down. I blew my whistle. But, shortly realized (and I still don't know if I was right) the contact that occurred before he fell down did not cause him to go down. I told the White Hat I had an inadvertent whistle. The offense took the result of the play, so no harm done. I've asked our assigner for clarification on this rule because I actually don't know what it is.
There's more bizarre stuff that occurred during this game. More tomorrow.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)